Skip to content

The game of Love Chapter 8

November 29, 2014

Chapter 8

Bryce cleared his face , which stung from all the crying he was doing. He then gave Iris a kiss on the forehead and looked at her. His green eyes registered relief and remorse . All he was feeling was gratitude , he was thankful that Iris has made it through.
Iris looked calm and alert . Iris remembered again why she loved Bryce. She was more sensitive when it came to matters of the heart ,and he was direct. Bryce had a blunt personality,he never sugar coated anything at some point he told himself emotion equaled weakness . Until Iris happened. Bryce began to tell Iris his version of events.

“Jet lag had gotten the best of me the day we fought .I went down stairs to the study and went through your stuff looking for clues on where I could find you, since I know you always have your list up next to your laptop the laptop wasn’t there but the list was there.”
Iris started slowly remembering the fall out between her and Bryce.
” I remember the fight and the list I forgot. On the list I had written submit article on Martin and the doping scandal. I has sent it through when I got home… I was pretty angry with you , cause you knew all along and I ran ”
Bryce started nodding
“Yes and since I called every hotel and looked everywhere , I was about to hang the car keys in the cabinet. When I noticed your loft key missing. My first initial thought was to call you and you picked up… When I heard a familiar voice , I drove up to the Blake’s house to try track Martin before he could do anything to you , turned out the familiar voice I heard over the phone when you were making it clear to me that we were over was Martin . When I told Jon and Sasha came in all panicky when she found a bottle of pills unopened knew that Martin was bound to hurt someone. I drove to the building where your loft was cause we had traced his route on Sashas’ phone.
I took a short cut you showed me, not the one with the hill and the curve where accidents happen and I was on my way up to your apartment , when I heard two earth shattering sounds.
Iris closed her eyes and had flashbacks .She started getting all emotional…

” Wait ,wait , you were the last face I saw after Martin shot me .All remember was how much I wanted to take back all I said.” Bryce held her face ever so gently and wipe her tears ,kissed her hand and locked eyes with her again.
“Let me finish , you were lying in a pool of blood …your own blood I thought I had lost you. My whole world caved in, I wanted to tell you so much… It was you who got me through a difficult time in my life. Before I met you I was angry if not a hot mess. Remember the boat accident I told you about… ”

“The accident you lost your father to? What you told me was that you had a heated argument with your father a scuffle broke out he lost control of the boat and you hit the rocks. ”
” Yes ;I promised myself never to go anywhere no water after it happened and not touch alcohol… You helped me get over my fear of water and helped me realize that to feel doesn’t mean your weak .”

” Oh my word … The scar just above your shoulder blade wasn’t caused by a paint ball shooting accident was it ? ”
“No … I was drunk the night my father came to my boat I had been drinking for an hour or so . I was kind of rebellious ,I knew I wasn’t supposed to have alcohol and parties on the boat but I did. The boat was some kind of escape from feeling any feeling except for being numb. ”

“Bryce what happened the night of the boat accident. ”
At that moment Iris
” My father tried to stop me from throwing myself overboard and hurting myself, when he lost control of the steering and we crashed into rocks. The only thing I remember was being under water and in pain and then darkness. I woke up in hospital 3 days after everything happened.” Bryce got all emotional again,his voice went all raspy. Iris remembers writing an article about the accident .
“Bryce I know you seldom talk about your family … I know your a Taylor ,I just didn’t know your the Taylor. Slate and Nate are your brothers… Oh my word .No No it can’t be ”

“Yes…” Iris realized the reason behind Martin wanting her head dead or alive.
“When Martin told me to hang up the phone the night I got shot… He told me I didn’t deserve you and that I’m better off dead. He said he was happy you cheated on me not once but twice. I told him I didn’t know you were the Bryce Ben Taylor, I just simply fell in love with you… The accident was all over the news … I was the last person to interview your father as a rookie journo. I went into sports after the story. Truth be told I was an investigative junior journo until I did a story on your fathers death when I had just interviewed him a couple of hours before… Bryce I saw the report… Martin didn’t like me ,I didn’t know why someone’s best friend could dislike me so much with a passion… The night he shot me with intent to kill and the stuff he was saying made everything clear…

“You were the last person to interview my father about his last book?” His face registered shock and betrayal. He didn’t know how to feel… “Iris have you met anyone in my family ?
Iris closed and opened her eyes and blinked… She took a deep breath and exhaled.

” What does it matter? We aren’t an item” she turned her head shed a tear.

“We are not over not by a long shot Iris …”

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

